Living Members of the Baseball Hall of Fame

The Baseball Hall of Fame can include players, managers, umpires, and executives (Most managers were former players and many players later become managers, but they are usually voted into the Hall as one or the other, as their career merits). The baseball writers association has the primary responsibility for selecting which players will be in the Hall of Fame. Players who are no longer under consideration by the baseball writers can be voted in by the veterans committee. The veterans committee is viewed by many as a "back door" into the Hall and, therefore, it is considered more prestigious to be inducted by the baseball writers.

The veterans committee - known since 2011 as the "historical overview committee" - is also responsible for inducting non-players, including managers, executives, and umpires.

The list below gives each living Hall member, in order of date of birth. It also indicates how each member was inducted. No designation means "player inducted by the baseball writers."

RankNameBornML Playing CareerInduction
1Tommy Lasorda9/22/19271954-561997 VC (manager)
2Whitey Ford10/21/19281950, 1953-671974 
3Willie Mays5/6/19311951-731979 
4Whitey Herzog11/9/19311956-632010 VC (manager)
5Hank Aaron2/5/19341954-761982 
6Luis Aparicio4/29/19341956-731984 
7Bud Selig7/30/1934N/A2017 HOC (executive)
8Al Kaline12/19/19341953-741980 
9Frank Robinson8/31/19351956-761982 
10Bob Gibson11/9/19351959-751981 
11Sandy Koufax12/30/19351955-661972 
12Bill Mazeroski9/5/19361956-722001 VC 
13Brooks Robinson5/18/19371955-771983 
14Pat Gillick8/22/1937N/A2011 HOC (executive)
15Orlando Cepeda9/17/19371958-741999 VC 
16Juan Marichal10/20/19371960-751983 
17Billy Williams6/15/19381959-761987 
18Gaylord Perry9/15/19381962-831991 
19Phil Niekro4/1/19391964-871997 
20Lou Brock6/18/19391961-791985 
21Carl Yastrzemski8/22/19391961-831989 
22Joe Torre7/18/19401960-772014 HOC (manager)
23John Schuerholz10/1/1940N/A2017 HOC (executive)
24Bobby Cox5/21/19411968-692014 HOC (manager)
25Tony Perez5/14/19421964-862000 
26Joe Morgan9/19/19431963-841990 
27Ferguson Jenkins12/13/19431965-831991 
28Tony La Russa10/4/19441963, 1968-732014 HOC (manager)
29Tom Seaver11/17/19441967-861992 
30Steve Carlton12/22/19441965-881994 
31Don Sutton4/2/19451966-881998 
32Rod Carew10/1/19451967-851991 
33Jim Palmer10/15/19451965-841990 
34Reggie Jackson5/18/19461967-871993 
35Rollie Fingers8/25/19461968-851992 
36Nolan Ryan1/31/19471966-931999 
37Johnny Bench12/7/19471967-831989 
38Carlton Fisk12/26/19471969, 1970-932000 
39Mike Schmidt9/27/19491972-891995 
40Bert Blyleven4/6/19511970-922011 
41Goose Gossage7/5/19511972-89, 1991-942008 
42Dave Winfield10/3/19511973-88, 1990-952001 
43Bruce Sutter1/8/19531976-86, 19882006 
44Jim Rice 3/8/19531974-892009 
45George Brett5/15/19531973-931999 
46Andre Dawson7/10/19541976-962010 
47Dennis Eckersley10/3/19541975-982004 
48Ozzie Smith12/26/19541978-962002 
49Jack Morris5/16/19551977-942018 HOC 
50Robin Yount9/16/19551974-931999 
51Eddie Murray2/24/19561977-972003 
52Paul Molitor8/22/19561978-982004 
53Alan Trammell2/21/19581977-962018 HOC 
54Wade Boggs6/15/19581982-992005 
55Rickey Henderson12/25/19581979-20032009 
56Tim Raines9/16/19591979-20022017 
57Ryne Sandberg9/18/19591981-94, 1996-972005 
58Cal Ripken Jr.8/24/19601981-20012007 
59Randy Johnson9/10/19631988-20092015 
60Barry Larkin4/28/19641986-20042012 
61Craig Biggio12/14/19651998-20072015 
62Tom Glavine3/25/19661987-20082014 
63Greg Maddux4/14/19661986-20082014 
64John Smoltz5/15/19671998-20092015 
65Trevor Hoffman10/13/19671993-20102018 
66Roberto Alomar2/5/19681988-20042011 
67Jeff Bagwell5/27/19681991-20052017 
68Frank Thomas5/27/19681990-20082014 
69Mike Piazza9/4/19691992-20072016 
70Ken Griffey Jr.11/21/19691989-20102016 
71Jim Thome8/27/19701991-20122018 
72Pedro Martinez10/25/19711992-20092015 
73Ivan Rodriguez11/27/19711991-20112017 
74Chipper Jones4/24/19721993, 1995-20122018 
75Vladimir Guerrero2/9/19751996-20112018 

Recent Deaths

Willie McCovey
Red Schoendienst
Doug Harvey

Links of interest:
  Baseball Hall of Fame
  Hall of Fame Graves
Copyright © 1997-2019 by David Carson. Who's Alive and Who's Dead is brought to you by Living Water Specialties.